List of optional subjects for Main Examination :

(i)      Agriculture
(ii)      Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
(iii)      Anthropology
(iv)      Botany
(v)        Chemistry
(vi)      Civil Engineering
(vii)        Commerce and Accountancy (viii) Economics
(ix)     Electrical Engineering
(x)       Geography
(xi)     Geology
(xii)     History (xiii) Law
(xiv)   Management
(xv)    Mathematics
(xvi)   Mechanical Engineering (xvii) Medical Science (xviii) Philosophy
(xix)   Physics
(xx) Political Science and International Relations
(xxi)   Psychology
(xxii) Public Administration 
(xxiii) Sociology 
(xxiv) Statistics 
(xxv) Zoology
(xxvi) Literature of any one of the following languages:
Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu and English.
(i)    The question papers for the examination will be of conventional (essay) type.
(ii)     Each paper will be of three hours duration.
(iii)    Candidates will have the option to answer all the question papers, except the Qualifying Language Papers, Paper-A and Paper-B, in any of the languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India or in English.
(iv)   Candidates exercising the option to answer Papers in any one of the languages mentioned above may, if they so desire, give English version within brackets of only the description of the technical terms, if any, in addition to the version in the language opted by them. Candidates should, however, note that if they misuse the above rule, a deduction will be made on this account from the total marks otherwise accruing to them and in extreme cases; their script(s) will not be valued for being in an unauthorized medium.   The question papers (other than the literature of language papers) will be set in Hindi and English only.